Sketching with fountain pens and AD Markers

I’ve been mixing the AD Markers with my fountain pen sketches again, and I’m loving the results. I was planning to do some pen and watercolor sketches, but I don’t enjoy the results I get with the fountain pens and watercolor paper. I have truly tried every watercolor paper and watercolor sketchbook out there, and I just haven’t found a combo that works for me. My favorite watercolor paper is Saunders Waterford from St Cuthberts Mill. The cold press is great for watercolor, but the texture is a bit too rough for my pen lines.

I’m still bouncing around between a few different sketchbooks, no one ever said you can only work in one at a time!

Each of the three sketches are in three different sketchbooks. The potted white zinnia is in a blank Leuchtturm1917 A5 journal, the tree is a Strathmore 400 series sketchbook, and the pink zinnia is in an A5 Paper-Oh grid notebook.

That’s all for today…thanks…Erik

Leave a Reply

